The Play’s the Thing

As was recently covered in the Homesteader, this summer will see a “Little House on the Prairie” stage premiere at the renowned Guthrie Theater in Minneapolis, Minnesota. And it’s a musical.

I ran across a blog post about this production written by Esther, a theater aficionado-slash-Little House fan. Click on through for links to the play’s logo, the director’s web site (the only source to mention a premiere date of August 15), a few interesting news stories (one of which claims the show will come to Broadway) and some background on some of the key players in the production. The post is well worth visiting.

I really, really, really want to go to Minneapolis this summer to catch this show. Anyone else trying to make it happen?

-sandra hume

5 Responses to The Play’s the Thing

  1. Rebecca says:

    I’ve been considering it!! Have been following the Guthrie blog for awhile now hoping for more solid info… I’d rather wait for a more convenient location but there’s always the chance it won’t make it… despite the popularity of the books and the 70s tv show, everything more recent (movies, miniseries, etc.) seems to sort of flop. Hopefully this will be a stellar performance and achieve awesome ratings accordingly.

  2. Connie says:

    I certainly am hoping to come out to the Guthrie and see this premier. Always looking for events to tie-in Little House journeys.

    😉 Connie in Colorado

  3. Esther says:

    Hi, thanks for linking to my blog. I loved the “Little House” books as a kid, so I’m very excited about the musical. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that it’ll turn out well, and I’ll let you know if I come across any more news.

  4. lauraingallswilder says:

    Thanks, Esther! You certainly seem to be more in the know than anyone. We’d appreciate anything you discover.

  5. Esther says:

    Hi everyone:

    As most of you probably know, there was a sneak peek at the Guthrie yesterday for the Little House musical. A blogging friend of mine, Steve on Broadway, was there and filed a report:

    http://steveonbroadway.blogspot.com/

    I also posted something on my blog, including links to the Guthrie Web site where you can hear from the director, Francesca Zambello, and short clips from three songs. I also included links from other media coverage of the event, which you might find interesting.

    Hope this helps!

    I’m planning my first-ever trip to Minnesota this fall to visit friends and take in the musical. Before I go, I was thinking about re-reading some of the Little House books. Any suggestions where I should start if I don’t have time to read all of them? I loved them as a girl, but I haven’t looked at them in probably 35 years. The musical will focus on a teenage Laura in the 1880s, so that’s where I’d like to focus.

Leave a Reply

