“I’ll wear my delaine.”

Right now my daughter and I are midway through Little House in the Big Woods, which we read a little bit of each night before bed. Tonight we got to this: 

Pa’s blue eyes twinkled; he had been saving the best for the last, and he said to Ma: 

“Hey Caroline! There’ll be a dance!”

Ma smiled. She looked very happy, and she laid down her mending for a minute. “Oh Charles!” she said.

Then she went on with her mending, but she kept on smiling. She said:

“I’ll wear my delaine.”

In all my years and all my reading, I’m not sure that in the whole series I’ve ever come across a line that I like more.

-sandra hume

4 Responses to “I’ll wear my delaine.”

  1. Dakotagirl says:

    I too love that line. I have such a perfect picture of that scene in my mind.

  2. Jennifer Hastley says:

    That’s one of my favorites too! 🙂

  3. Connie says:

    Isn’t this just like Ma – so simple and refined and straightforward. I can just see her sweet smile.

    -Connie in Colorado

  4. Erica Randall says:

    I am going through that book each night before bed with my little sister! And we just read that line a couple night ago, i love it!

    -erica

Leave a Reply

