Coming To A Town Near … Me!

One of the more unfortunate things about living in the middle of nowhere, as I do, is that not much happens here. For a girl born and bred in Boston, it’s a tough thing to get used to. That’s why we travel a lot.

And that’s also why at the moment, I can’t believe my good fortune. This month our local community concert association is bringing Riders in the Sky to perform. Right to my town.

Dale Cockrell’s Pa’s Fiddle Recordings is two albums into what I’ve been told will be a full set of performances of songs mentioned in the Little House series. On the first, Happy Land, a “greatest hits” of sorts, Riders in the Sky performed “The Blue Juniata” and “Captain Jinks” (incidentally, one of my daughter’s favorite songs — and she hasn’t yet read the series). On the follow-up, Arkansas Traveler, featuring songs from Little House on the Prairie, they reprise The Blue Juniata and perform the title track as well.

My own Little House concert! I’ll let you know when I’m going; be sure to check back here for a report.

4 Responses to Coming To A Town Near … Me!

  1. Erica Randall says:

    THAT IS SO AWESOME! Let us know about it! I envey you 🙂

    -erica

  2. Erica Randall says:

    SO COOL! Tell us all about it!
    -erica

  3. Erica Randall says:

    sorry i commented twice, the first one did not seem to go through but i guess it did.

    -erica

  4. Connie says:

    Wow – Riders in the Sky! I would love to hear them in concert, too. Let me know when they’re coming and maybe I can drive out to join y’all. Isn’t it amazing how the music of the Little House books continues to play over the generations?

    Connie

Leave a Reply

