Homesite Travel Redux

What a treasure trove of information! I love what you’ve all shared about your Laura Ingalls Wilder travels. We need this kind of collaboration. In just one day:

Dakotagirl reminded us of the Cottage Inn Motel in De Smet, with its reasonable rates, clean rooms, and — what was that? — wifi! Becky confirmed that the nights in the covered wagons on Ingalls Homestead are indeed an amazing experience for kids. Amy L. and Amy R. answered Jonni’s query about Prairie House Manor, and both sing its praises for a top-notch De Smet experience. Susan told us the presence of Dairy Queens were a good indicator of town size between Walnut Grove and De Smet. Jonni tells me she and I will be lodging at the same place in Malone. She’s right — the house will be filled with Laura fans. How fabulous. And thanks to Dennis, we now know to seek out some scrumptious Italian food while we’re there.

Something I didn’t mention in my last post regarding De Smet lodging was the possibility of camping at Lake Thompson. Yes, that Lake Thompson. It’s now part of the South Dakota State Park System. I visited it for the first time way back in 2001 and remember being amazed. The sheer vastness of the lake! The whitecaps! The Lake Thompson in my head was small and calm and serene, just like Lake Henry next to it. (Or so my mind’s eye told me.) According to the web site, just Lake Thompson exists today, and only after going through stages as pasture and then marshland. The lake was so unlike what I expected that when I took my photos, simple images of the lake weren’t good enough. I had to attempt the obligatory self-portrait.

Interesting discovery: Lake Thompson rents out a 12-bed group lodge. Full kitchen, fully furnished. Hmmm. Shall we make note of that for the future?

4 Responses to Homesite Travel Redux

  1. 'Morph says:

    Oohhh…De Smet is the only reason I miss South Dakota at all. And I used to love going to Lake Thompson. Now I want to go back!

  2. Jonni says:

    I think I see a LIW conference in our future at the Lake Thompson group lodge. 😉

  3. I don’t think I ever read the Wilder books, but I LOVED the TV series. I still watch re-runs today, and I’m in my 40s. Crazy, I know, but I love that pioneering spirit. Maybe I should read her books, too.

    Thanks for this blog. What an interesting idea!

    Jackie

  4. Dakotagirl says:

    Jackie, YES read the books. You are in for a real treat.

    The group lodge at Lake Thompson sounds ready made for all of us to have a blast. Lets plan a gathering for next year.

    It looks like Malone will be the big gathering spot this year. I am not sure if I will make it or not. It is the only site I have not visited and I REALLY want to go.

Leave a Reply

