It’s OK, We Still Like Her

OK, I have to out a fellow Laura fan. Susan Gaissert, who blogs here, has never read Farmer Boy.

But wait! No need to despair. Thanks to the anticipation of her June trip to Malone — her first visit there — she’s mending her ways. And publicly. And educationally. Look at all the things she’s learning. (PS: Dennis? Are you reading? She’s got an ice-house question that I think you might be able to answer …)

Hmmm … got to make those Homesteader applications a bit more detailed

3 Responses to It’s OK, We Still Like Her

  1. Dakotagirl says:

    I have a confession to make. I did not read Farmer Boy until 2005. Nansie showed me the error of my ways and brought me into the light. I bought the hardcover edition at the homesites on a LIW holiday.

    I had never considered it a true LH book and I didn’t think it would appeal to me. I was pleasantly surprised when I started reading it. I learned a great deal and enjoyed it very much.

    Thanks Sandra for posting the link to Susan’s blog. I will add it to the list on Dakotagirl and have bookmarked it on my computer.

  2. sgaissert says:

    Thank you, Sandra. I probably wouldn’t have a blog if you and the Homesteader hadn’t reignited my interest in writing, and I definitely wouldn’t have read “Farmer Boy” or planned a trip to Malone if it weren’t for you.

    Thank you, too, Dakotagirl.

  3. Jonni says:

    Since it’s just us friends, I’ll confess too…I always thought I’d read Farmer Boy until recently when I “re-read” it and it stopped sounding familiar after the first couple of chapters. Oops. So either I never read it all the way through or I’ve got some memory-loss problems. Either way, I’ve read it more than once now and it’s great. Can’t wait for Malone!

Leave a Reply

