What Was Pieplant Anyway?

Remember in The First Four Years when Laura tries to make pie for the threshers and she forgets the sugar? Well so does this blogger. And because she’s a food blogger, she knows that the “pieplant” Laura used to make the pie — which for some reason I’d accepted without question,  even though at the time “pieplant” was as foreign a term to my ear as, say, Brangelina — is in fact rhubarb.

I confess, my first thought upon learning that was … Gross. Because unflavored rhubarb? Ew.

My next thought?

Duh.

4 Responses to What Was Pieplant Anyway?

  1. sgaissert says:

    I’ve never eaten rhubarb, with or without sugar. I think the word itself always turned me off. I have a friend who loves it. Maybe someday.

  2. Dennis D. Picard says:

    My parent’s home had a patch of rhubarb and because it was ready about the same time as the first strawberry picking, my mother always made strawberry rhubarb pie – with brown sugar. It was definitely a springtime treat. While I was traveling in Ireland a few years ago my wife and I stopped at the “Bishop’s Buttery” for tea. One of the treats was scones with rhubarb sauce, which was basically prepared like a pie filling but ladled over the scone. Now that I think of it, it would compare to strawberry shortcake.

  3. mae says:

    I’m glad my remark about pie plant was useful to you. Rhubarb is such a fixture in cooking in Michigan and other parts of the Midwest that I’m startled when people are unfamiliar with it. Evidently settlers like the Wilder and Ingalls families brought plants with them for their vegetable gardens: it does grow very readily.

  4. Connie in Colorado says:

    LOL – while in high school my very first homemade cherry pie was beautiful until that first bite and, like Laura, I had forgotten to add the sugar! Of course, it was made for a ‘boyfirend’ having dinner with my family. Needless to say, I certainly learned to check recipes while cooking. Now we have two cherry trees in our backyard and I put up cherries every year – pie filling (very sweetened), jellies, and a county-fair-entered cherry/nectarine salsa.

Leave a Reply

