So Says The Farm Wife

I know many women who call their husbands “Hubby” or even, in the case of one friend, “the Hubster.” I have nothing personally against this term when others use it. But I never do and couldn’t imagine myself doing so.

I’m not sure why this is. I remember seeing a greeting card as a child from my friend’s mother to her husband and was confused by the word “Hubby” in it. Even learning it was short for “husband” didn’t lower my raised eyebrows or smooth my confused brow.

Even the acronym (initialism? I always confuse the two) DH — standing for “Dear Husband” — used so often in Internet circles has failed to catch on in my online vernacular. I still choose the wordy, somewhat stodgy “my husband.” Harder to type, slower to say, indeed. Still I prefer it.

But recently I’ve corresponded with Laura fans who freely and breezily refer to their husbands as “the Man of the Place.”

For some reason, this I can do.

 

4 Responses to So Says The Farm Wife

  1. sgaissert says:

    I like “The Man of the Place,” too. I think I’m going to try to add it to my vocabulary.

  2. Dakotagirl says:

    I too like the term and refer to my husband that way. He likes for me to use it. Actually, for a husband, he is well versed in the ways of Lauradom.

    He calls me a bonnethead and means it in a nice way, When I was the first person to walk Laura’s Pathway to Home in Mansfield, he said I had bonnethead cred.

  3. Dennis D. Picard says:

    …and on the flip side it is “she who must be obeyed?” We were talking about this form of address issue a while back, historically. Have you ever noticed in the 19th century couples refering to each other as “Mrs.” & “Mr.” so & so; even within the family or around children – as in “Mrs. Knight will go to market today” and “your father Mr. Knight will do the plowing?” Never mind, your mother or father or Ma & Pa

  4. Gretchen says:

    Hilarious! There’s a guy here who will call and say, “I talked to your hubby and….” It cracks me up. I NEVER call him “hubby.” It rhymes with “tubby.”

Leave a Reply

