The NYT talks Little House

Today the New York Times gives us one of the best articles I’ve seen on the musical. It’s not a review, per se, but it does give better info on the production than any story has thus far.

Interesting fact: the girl who plays Laura and the girl who plays Nellie went to the same college and were roommates together in New York. Imagine playing Laura to your roommate’s Nellie?

Melissa Gilbert also says about Michael Landon, almost tearfully: “I’d like to hope he’d be very proud of this.”

May we say the same about Mrs. A. J. Wilder.

2 Responses to The NYT talks Little House

  1. sgaissert says:

    I read the article this morning, as part of my usual morning NYT read. I also thought it was good. I wonder if the show will ever make it to Broadway. I hope so, because then I’d have a chance to see it.

  2. Esther says:

    It was an interesting article. A few things struck me: the writer said that the show “does not feel like a typical New York musical event.” He said the orchestra is “dominated by strings and fiddle.” And he noted that the composer is an opera writer from London who was unfamiliar with the books and the tv series. I don’t know whether any of this matters, whether he was trying to imply that it probably wouldn’t work on Broadway or what.

    He also mentioned that a new book writer was brought in to make the story more dramatic, which was interesting. Also, Melissa Gilbert is not an experienced singer, although the story says she’s been working with a voice coach.

    Another thing that intrigues me is it’s being marketed as a family show but the Guthrie Web site says that Little House is recommended for children ages 12 and up and the story focuses on the teenage Laura. Seems a bit of a mixed message to me. I just don’t know if this is something you’d take your 8-year-old to see as well as your 12-year-old.

    On the other hand, Broadway on Yahoo! has a theater blogger who says the Little House buzz has been great, and people are already talking about a Broadway transfer, although he doesn’t have any sources to back it up. Anyway, I’m going to see it the weekend after Labor Day and I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

