Laura’s California Connection

When Sarah Sue Uthoff found out I was going to be in Los Angeles this past weekend, she asked me if I’d planned a side trip to Pomona. Pomona Public Libary’s Children’s Room (which has a blog) was named in Laura’s honor in 1950, thanks to librarian Clara Webber, who maintained a longtime correspondence with Laura. The library, which hosts a sociable for Laura’s birthday every February, happens to be where William Anderson first met principal Wilder photographer Les Kelly. It also houses the manuscript of Little Town on the Prairie.

I didn’t have a chance to answer Sarah before I left, but I remember thinking how visiting Pomona hadn’t even occurred to me. I promptly forgot about that until the next day, when I was sitting with another writer (I was in California for a fellowship), and I asked where she was from.

“Pomona,” she said.

“Is that far from here?”

“About an hour,” she said.

D’oh!

The good news is I’m going back in October. Maybe I’ll be able to manage a visit then.

Leave a Reply

